Board of Directors

The current KDN structure involves three components: a Board of Directors, a Leadership Team, and an Executive Director, who works with both groups of leadership members.

If you need to contact anyone on this list, or need to contact Kentucky Diabetes Network for any reason, please e-mail us at

The 2022 Board of Directors have begun their two year term as of January 2022. These board members are:

Chairperson: Sri Prakash Mokshagundam, M.D.,
Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism, University of Louisville

Vice-Chair: Tom Walton, Executive in Residence,
University of Louisville School of Public Health

Member: Brooke Hudspeth, PharmD, CDE, Diabetes Care Pharmacist,
Kroger Pharmacy; University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy

Member: Sathya Krishnasamy, M.D., Associate Professor,
Attending Physician, University of Louisville

Member: Connie White, M.D.,
Senior Deputy Commissioner, Kentucky Department for Public Health

Member: Kupper A. Wintergerst, M.D., FAAP, Professor;
Pediatrics Chief; Endocrinology and Diabetes,
Wendy Novak Diabetes Center, University of Louisville School of Medicine;
Norton Children's Hospital

Member: Lisa Smith, BA Miami University, MA The Ohio State University;
former Director of Development for Children with Diabetes,
Texas Christian University, Oklahoma State University, University of Tulsa
and The Ohio State University




The 2022 Leadership Team

Whitney Allen, President

Beth Ackerman, Past-President

Danielle Augustine, President-elect

John Bunton, Treasurer

Janet Cowherd, DPP/Prevention co-chair

Danielle Augustine, DPP/Prevention co-chair

Shanna Nicholson, DSME Education co-chair

Bonnie Hughes, DSME Education co-chair

Pat Ryan, Community Outreach co-chair

Merritt Bates-Thomas, Community Outreach co-chair

Will Hancock, Partnership and Networking co-chair

Whitney Allen, Partnership and Networking co-chair

Becki Thompson, KDPCP Liaison

Timothy Antoniou, IT/Web

Tina Claypool, Member at Large

The 2022 Executive Director

Terry Gehrke, Executive Director